So, the info session I went to today wasn’t exactly a huge step forward… mostly a bit of a tedious repetition of the information that is available online. However, I did have the chance to speak afterwards to one of the program coordinators, and he gave me some helpful advice on how to successfully navigate the system. And that does heaps to encourage me. It was also reassuring to look around and see that all the other people attending the session sort of looked like, and looked like they maybe felt like, me. I have such a ridiculous tendency to perceive myself as totally isolated and some kind of out-lyer… which is so rarely the case, in actuality.

The main advice the man I spoke with today gave me was that I shouldn’t think of myself as unemployed, just because I don’t have a typical 9-to-5 job; he described my current work situation as doing freelance work. Of course. Isn’t that so much nicer sounding? I wish I had thought of that myself.

So, more hoop jumping through, and many more weeks of paper work, to do before anything more exciting happens in that domain. In the meantime, let’s talk about some pretty things!

The zipper on this sweatshirt broke years ago, but I love it so much – it’s so long!- that I just used safety pins to close it for the last… 4 years. I decided a few days ago that I needed to show it my love in a more crafty way. Therefore: an adventure into the exciting and mysterious world of applique! I had so much fun cutting and piecing and stitching this together… it was incredibly cathartic. The mechanics of the button closure itself I was careful with, but the applique was just a big, sloppy experiment. Stitching with the quilting foot was so much like sketching, drawing on the fabric with thread, going over it again and again until I had captured the shape of the line I was looking for… I feel so inspired to have a go at applying this treatment to other sorts of projects. Hmm… I’ll tuck that one away in the great treasure chest of ideas, for sure.

One Response

  1. Wooo so awsome on both the info session and the BEAUTIFUL Sweatshirt. We should talk fer real on the phone soon. Love Rikki

Leave a Reply

