Waiting

Oh, I am a cranky bear today. I’m fighting off a cold that’s got me all head-achy, just when I was feeling so proud of myself for making it through the winter with nary a sniffle. It’s not my fault that winter is lasting so stupidly long, sheesh.

And I’m jumping up every time I hear a truck go by because I’m anticipating a fedex delivery of my new eye glasses today – they tried yesterday but didn’t have the buzzer code for the front door (my bad). After over a year of not having glasses I am really excited about these ones – I wish they would get here already! Patience is not one of my many virtues.

And because C is sick too the whole house is a disaster, as all normal cleaning duties have been abandoned in favour of being total wimps. We hunkered down in blankets with buckets of ginger tea yesterday and watched a whole season of Buffy. It’s a proven sickness-slaying combo, you know.

Ginger tea:

Ginger is a potent antibacterial and antiviral agent – drink it in tea or use it to season your dinner at the slightest hint of a cold and you can usually knock it out of your system.

Simple way: Steep a 1″ knob of grated fresh ginger in 2 or 3 cups of boiling water. Sweeten with organic honey (soothing for a sore throat), and add fresh lemon juice to taste (astringent, good for clearing throat of mucus, source of Vit. C too). Drink this constantly. Eat the little ginger bits in the bottom of your cup, too.

Or: Grate the ginger and bring it to a boil with water in a small saucepan with a pinch of cayenne, a cinnamon stick (broken up), and a few whole cloves, then simmer for 10-15 mins. This brew has a nice chai-y taste and extra healing goodness. Cayenne is good for circulation, high in Vit. C. Cinnamon has a warming effect on the system, and like ginger has antibacterial and antiviral qualities, as well as helping to regulate blood sugar. Cloves have a mild anesthetizing effect that feels nice when your throat is all raw and scratchy. Add the lemon and honey as above. Drink gallons. Feel better soon.

2 Responses

  1. what no pictures of dripping, raw noses and red scratchy eyes???

  2. The first time I had ginger tea was at your house. We were about 15 I think. We went to the little loft room upstairs and watched something on TV and you fell asleep.

Leave a Reply

