Pretty things for a rainy day

Rain today for the first time in 3 weeks, it feels so strange after such a long sunny dry spell. May, June, July, August seemed like just one big thunderstorm.

Unrelatedly, I joined the 21st century last week and started using an aggregator to assemble my crafty and gardening blogs, and boy, is that an efficient little tool. I have so much more time now… to read craft blogs.

Rain and an empty house and other crafty people’s joyous seeming lives overflowing with beauty and wit and brilliant ideas makes for a melancholy evening. There could be such a thing as blog overload, I suppose. I never thought I’d utter those words.

Bah, here are some pics of the fascinator I made for the lovely J’s wedding back in August. Much happier thoughts!

Photo by Irene Suchocki

The flower is a sort of kanazashi-esque thing I made out of some vivid magenta raw silk. The colour here is a little off. Have no fear, it matched her shoes.  The centre of the flower features a pearlescent and rhinestone brooch and beautiful black crystal beads with an oil-slick/peacock sheen, both of which came from the great grandmother stash I keep mentioning. J’s earrings came from her too!

Photo by Irene Suchocki

Tucked behind the bloom are a few little leaves I made out of upcycled aluminum.  Behind them are the feathers that I dyed myself to accommodate J’s request for ethical feathers. Although there is a wide selection of beautiful feathers available for purchase, you can be reasonably sure that the beautiful birds that grew and preened those feathers were harmed in order for you to have them.  Not a happy thought for an animal lover on her wedding day. So! The feathers you see here are actually pigeon feathers that I scavenged in the parks near us, given naturally to the grass and by happy, cooing free-range pigeons. A thorough soaping to kill any clinging beasties, then 24 hours immersed in a bath of warmed dylon cold (funny, right?), with vinegar rather than their brand fixative. I think they turned out pretty nice.

Here I am pinning the fascinator into her hair. Doesn’t she look glamourous? Seriously. I used the same dye from the feathers to dye my dress – not that you can particularily see it here – but this is my own wedding dress, a linen sleevless number that I made two years ago when I had my own special day. I love how the dye changed it. The tatting that trims the neck and hem was handmade by my blind great aunt, and it absorbed the dye differently then the linen, turning a lovely mossy kelp colour.  I had expected the linen itself to be a much darker turquoise too, but I love this shade now – a pale smokey winter sun on stormy ocean colour. Perfect.

Ah, here is a better picture. That shiny sash is actually 2 meters of the most expensive ribbon I will (hopefully) ever buy. The necklace I’m wearing there is a found shell pendant I made ages ago that just happend to be the exact same colour as my dress. Thank you, ocean.

Sigh. I know yesterday I was all pro-fall, but rain rain go away. I miss summer already.

ps. Thanks to Irene for the use of her goreous photos! Check our her lovely photo blog too, why don’t you.

3 Responses

  1. Gorgeous!

    Which colour of Dylon did you use, if you don’t mind my asking?

  2. Them is some pretty photos!

  3. Wow, your dress looks so pretty; I love how it turned out!

Leave a Reply

