face painting

another monday, another portrait? it’s a helpful thing, to try to draw yourself, the way you feel. you should try it. it’s a definite, different kind of helpful than just writing. really. you should try it.

wishful thinking

here i am, wishing that feeling good and inspired was something i could turn on and off, at will, like a light. this made me realize that all this ‘disappearing’ i’m always seeking maybe isn’t such a good thing. do i really want to vanish, be subsumed, lost, in anything, even if it is something as lovely and powerful as art making? no. (especially when it is something lovely and powerful)

Aimer, ce n’est pas se regarder l’un l’autre, c’est regarder ensemble dans la même direction.

-Saint-Exupery

(and then yesterday, i volunteered at the community centre’s Eid celebration, painting all the children’s faces, and while there was many faces full of stars, flowers, butterflies, cats, and harry potters, the most popular was spider man. ha!)

2 Responses

  1. Whooa you’re self portraits are so intense! I really love drawing self portraits. I think it’s because I can manipulate myself into any position or place or look and only I can be offended if I draw my nose to large 😉

  2. hmm I was just thinking maybe our project should morph into self portraits? Or perhaps add that too? haha perhaps I should just let things come as they may.

Leave a Reply

