Squeaker and Pato

I finished a super sweet commission last week – a custom quilt reconstruction for a friend who just had her first baby!

To call it a reconstruction is a bit misleading, actually. Although the blue material and batting you see here was salvaged from a simple original quilt that had seen far better days,  I don’t think that’s really enough to qualify. It’s not a reconstruction project in the recycled-repaired-resurrected sense that I usually use the word; it’s a photo reconstruction! See?

My client’s husband took this photo of their son on a sheepskin rug, and jokingly called it “Squeaker and Pato go leaping through the clouds”.  (Squeaker is the babe, Pato is the toy duck, fyi… obviously! lol)  My task was to pay homage to that inspirational image, in whimsical quilt form.

Pato the duck

To create the baby’s body, I worked closely with the original photo, first simplifying the image in photoshop, and then printing it out as template to use as a guide for cutting the various pieces of clothing. The clouds, duck and baby body are machine appliqued onto the quilt, and it was super fun to do! Like drawing with thread, doodling with the machine to create the wrinkles and shadows in his clothing.

Squeaker

I hand embroidered the face carefully to try to recreate a close likeness. It was a little painstaking and difficult to decide what the salient features were, and then figure out how to represent that only with lines of thread. I did unpick quite a few stitches before I got it right, but I’m really happy with the end result:

Nice, eh? I can totally see more textile portraits in my future.

And here is the crowing glory, real-life Squeaker and Pato with the quilt, together at last!

Isn’t this just about the cutest thing you’ve ever seen?!

Yeah, me too.

🙂

3 Responses

  1. Hi Anna,

    These are too cute for words! Thanks for letting me know about the links to my facebook page.
    Irene

  2. Hi Anna,
    Mark sent me the link to your quilt. I love it. Can’t wait to see more.
    Mary Anne

  3. WOW! Yes indeed, this is fabulous! You are right to be very proud of your work.

Leave a Reply

