Save the date!

Hi friends, mark your calendars:

I’m having a show!

I admit it’s rather nerve-wracking to consider – one glance at my to-do list is major cause for panic attacks.  So instead of thinking of it as this career-changing, Serious Artist, Serious Business endeavor, I’m try to think about it as a sort of birthday party for my work. Fun people! Cool Art! Tasty snacks! What’s not to like?

The birthday metaphor is pretty accurate, though – it’s going to be a celebration to mark an official beginning of my business, the launch of my new website and of my line of stationery and print goods. It is a pretty big (anxiety-inducing) deal!

But a birthday party for my artist self? Hooray! No big deal! I mean, I like hosting parties.

What’s going to be a real hoot is staging our apartment as a gallery. I’m going to have to be pretty creative about where I hide all our uhm… furniture. Conveniently, we’ll be moving house at the end of August anyway, so the show will force me to actually pack some boxes before midnight on August 31st. Ha.

Anyway, I think it’s going to be a really fun day. I’m very proud of the work that I have done in the past year, of having arrived at a point where I have something I can call “a body of work”, and that I actually want to show it is even more exciting. That feels like a real accomplishment in and of itself.

So I sincerely hope that some of you lurkers out there that live in Toronto will come out and say hi. It would be a real pleasure to meet some of you in the flesh and to thank you for all your encouraging comments that have led me to this point. Please don’t be shy! 😀

You can expect more details and many reminders in the coming 6 weeks, so stay tuned. August 14th! Hope to see you then!

3 Responses

  1. i’m so fracking proud of you! i’m going to see what i can do about coming out for this!!

  2. […] been having a hard time sleeping lately. Might have a little something to do with a certain event that I’m planning. Hm. In the past week my days have been overtaken by a decidedly diligent […]

  3. […] 13, 2010 by Anna Borstad For a wee refreshing break from Art Show Planning, here is a list of things I’ve enjoyed this […]

Leave a Reply

