Colours and patterns

hullo again,

thanks for the cheer-up music tips, folks – keep ’em coming if you got ’em! I was about to apologize for inflicting my morose mood on you, last post, but then I reconsidered — I’m coming to terms with black just being a colour in my palette, you know? Not every day will be love and sunshine, and that’s okay. It would be foolish for me to behave as if it wasn’t!

Besides which, there’s a hidden gift in feeling lost, provided we can get put aside our self pity long enough to realize it; it’s a moment of stillness in which to re-examine our motivations, our foundations, our direction. A break in the daily rhythm, the regular pattern of behaviour. Its a chance to reflect and recommit ourselves, and a reminder to make thankful, mindful choices.ย  Yeah sure, it might feel for a bit like a forced re-examination, but consider – how often do you really sit down and spend some time with your dreams and values except for when the going gets rough?ย  It’s so easy to lose track of the “why” in the bustle of keeping up with to-do lists, appointments, and other daily responsibilities.

Anyway, that my deep thought for you today. Here are some photos of colourful things and interesting patterns accumulated from the last few weeks. I’ve noticed – I hardly take pictures of actual things, of subjects. I’m almost always engaged in a colour study — that is unless i’m photographing shit I’ve made! Hope that you enjoy them.

okay, so i'm sneaking this in because it's the best loaf of spelt bread i've made so far! a pinch of citric acid is the trick.

and this one, "brown and white dinner" - I know it doesn't look like much, but boy it was sooo tasty: roasty potatoes, steamed cauliflower and homemade cheese sauce, tamari-maple baked tofu, and sauerkraut. Fall is here and I'm loving it! Eating with the season is fun.

Points to anyone who can identify this last picture! You have until Monday to ruminate. ๐Ÿ™‚

be well my friends.

Anna

6 Responses

  1. Should I leave my rumination on the (very pretty) last photo here?

  2. Piano hammers?

  3. Piano hammers was my guess, too. You should see the assembled organ bits that we have on our wall: my cousin Erica makes interesting and crunchy art using painting, signmaking and printing techniques. You might like her ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. curious about your cheese sauce. . . is it real cheese or vegan cheese?

    • I use real cheese – my experiences with vegan cheese have been disgusting!
      But I use a vegan recipe otherwise, ironically — so basically a white sauce recipe (start with a butter/flour roux, add hot milk. whisk and simmer til thickened), well seasoned with salt, dijon mustard, nutritional yeast, salt, and usually a little sauteed garlic or onion. When this is all mixed up and tastes about right, then i add a little grated cheddar to finish it off. This way you have a very tasty and flavourful cheesy sauce that uses much less cheese than conventional recipes call for – so it’s both less expensive and much lighter too.
      I could try to pound out an *actual* recipe with amounts if you like…!

  5. just been trying to cut out as much animal protein as i can in my diet and cheese is hard to do, unless it’s, well. . . . cheese. daiya shredded is the best vegan cheese i’ve had. i got a book with a recipe with cashews but haven’t tried it. . . looks yummy is why i asked ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

