Another year older

Today I’m celebrating my 29th birthday! And, even though it passed three weeks ago, I’m choosing to celebrate the anniversary of this here little blog today too. What a year it has been!

 

birthday candle or seed puff? doesn't matter - make a wish!

Remember, last year around this time was when I began dabbling in watercolour. I can hardly believe that it was only one year ago. It feels like… a lifetime ago. Yes, that’s it – a time filled with life. Rich. Ahh…

 

Major achievements this year? Having my first art show (and my second art show! ) and building my website.  Ha, I know I promised you glorious fanfare when it was done and ready to show off, but when it was finally done I was just so exhausted by the process that I kind of let the promotion end of things slide… Oh well, let’s do it now!

Fanfare! Hoorah! We're off to visit http://www.annaborstad.com! Join the parade!

Challenges this year included C’s finishing her Master’s degree, the death of our dear fluffy kitty-friend, moving to a new city… but none of those was truly a bad thing. C graduated with flying colours – and we both survived! Hamilton is turning out to be  a lovely place and we are settling in happily. Saying goodbye to Bird was so, so hard, but in the end I know it was the right thing to do, and both in life and death his little feline form was a blessing.

What I’m feeling today about my own life is that the true meaning of celebrating birthdays isn’t about the day I was born, or the fact that I am another year older. The thing to celebrate is the fact that everyday is my birthday. Everyday I wake up and the day can be new, I can be new to it, anything is possible, the world is a fabulous place full of beauty to explore and know, and I am a part of it.  A birthday is a day to be thankful for life, to honour our growth, and to remember the pure delight of re/birth. Seeing all these lovely babies lately has really sunk in – we’re all still newborn babies, really, inside somewhere…

Below is a list of some of my favourite posts from the last year, in no particular order. I hope you enjoy them, and thank you dearly for reading, commenting, and being my companions while I travel this path. You all make this worthwhile. Bisous!

  1. Learning to draw
  2. Summer’s glory
  3. Fragile
  4. Sketches of spring
  5. Green musings
  6. Divided state of he/art
  7. Tying the knots
  8. Weekend at the farm in pictures

Happy Birthday, to you!

best,

Anna

 

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

